What are the three types of hyperpigmentation?

Skin darkening comes in various forms and might look different on various people. Melasma, age spots, and post-inflammatory hyperpigmentation are the most typical forms of skin darkening. Below are the three different types of skin darkening.


Melasma is a darkened skin that occurs more frequently in women than men due to hormonal changes in our bodies. Extreme heat or UV light exacerbates this sort of colouring. The facial areas most commonly affected by melasma include the forehead, cheeks, and upper lip.

Skin Age Spots

Darker skin areas bordered by lighter skin are known medically as hyperpigmentation. Age spots, liver spots, sun damage, and melasma are common names for darkened skin. Our skin is increasing its melanin (or pigmentation) production. Our bodies manufacture more melanin in response to UV radiation or skin damage leading to darkened skin, sun spots, or tanning. Sun spots, also known as age spots, are common among those over the age of 30.

Post-Inflammatory Hyperpigmentation

Another kind of skin darkening is called post-inflammatory hyperpigmentation or PIH. A skin wound is what causes PIH. PIH is more common in people with dark skin since they are less sun-sensitive. When skin is damaged, the body produces more pigment melanin to help the wound heal and protect the skin. When this happens, you should use a skin lightener first, like Lytera or retinol from SkinMedica. This will reduce the skin’s excessive melanin synthesis, start peeling away the discolouration’s outermost layers, and lighten the skin overall.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s